Skip Sub-navigation

Seva CD

The Kripalu Experience on Disc

Produced by the Kripalu Yoga and Ayurveda Association (KYAA), the Seva CD series includes tracks ranging from meditative to uplifting to joyously exuberant, which together evoke what it’s like to spend a day at Kripalu.

The musicians who contribute to the project donate their work, thus giving the CD its name (seva is Sanskrit for “selfless service”). A portion of the proceeds from the purchase of each CD goes to Teaching for Diversity, a Kripalu-sponsored grant program for bringing yoga to underserved populations.

Seva CD 5

Order the Seva CD vol. 5 now.

This latest edition of the Seva CD collection features music selected to create an evocative flow to accompany your classes and personal practice. This compilation begins with a moving hymn-like invocation, glides seamlessly into the gentle grooves of chants and uplifting rhythms, and closes with the sonic embrace of sacred sounding.

Track Listing

  1. “Alleluia” from In-Between Lullabies, by Sarah O. Martin
  2. “Gate Gate” from Artist of the Heart, by Frannie Faith
  3. “Hare Rama” from Soma-Bandhu: Friend of the Moon, by Carrie Grossman
  4. “Om Namah Shivaya” from Bhakti Treasure, by Ned & Lynn
  5. “Shri Ram Jai Ram” by Irene Soléa
  6. “Mahatma’s Message” from Elephant Power, by MC Yogi
  7. “Hari Om” from Amrita, by Prajna Vieira and Ben Leinbach
  8. “Lokah Samastah (Sean Dinsmore’s Happy Free Mix)” from Sharanam, by Sharon Gannon
  9. “Maha Lakshmi” from 121, by Satyaa & Pari & Mira
  10. “Om Namo Narayana” from May All Beings Be Happy, by Joseph Le Page
  11. “Ave Maria” from Mercy Songs, by Mercedes Bahleda

Seva CD 2011

Order the Seva CD Vol. 4 now.

The Sanskrit word svadharma loosely translates as “your essential self’s ultimate purpose”—showing up for what your higher self is called to do. The mix on this edition of the Seva CD is intended as inspiration for you to follow that call. Whether you’re taking a personal retreat into yoga, setting out on a journey (inner or outer), or finally tackling that project that’s been waiting for you, let this unique collection of music provide you with a gentle and uplifting soundtrack to evoke your deeper calling.

Track Listing

  1. “Energy Origin” from Crow Speaks, by Antonio Aversano
  2. “Once I Thought” from A Dream I Had, by Charlie Braun
  3. “Om Namo Bhagavate Vasudevaya” from hOMe, by Steven Leonard
  4. “L’chah Dodi” from Coming Home, by Temple (Danya and Eyal)
  5. “Vishnu’s Dream (Om Namo Bhagavate) from Queen of Hearts, by Jai Uttal”
  6. “Mantra Dance” from Dhamaru, by Dhamaru
  7. “Gayatri” from Nataraj, by Eddy Nataraj
  8. “Sri Ram Jai Ram” from Dancing in the Heart, Dave Russell
  9. “Two Clay Feet” (previously unreleased instrumental) by Mimi Cross
  10. “Arrival” (previously unreleased) by Kairos, Allison, and Shaun Laframboise

Seva CD 2010

Order the Seva CD Vol. 3 now.

We are excited to bring you Sounds of Bhakti, our third compilation in the Seva CD series. The word bhakti means devotion in Sanskrit, and we’ve selected an array of tracks from various artists that embody the devotional power of chant. This unique collection is ideal for your personal practice, your classes, and your listening pleasure anytime. As an added bonus, the CD begins and ends with rare recordings of Swami Kripalu chanting.

Track Listing

  1. “Sarvodaya Santi Mantra” from A Swami Kripalu Chant
  2. “Rag Yaman” (excerpt) from Songs of the Heart, by Christine Ghezzo
    with Pedro Da Silva
  3. “Wah Yantee” from Grateful Ganesha, by Guru Ganesha Singh
  4. “Ganapati Om” from Japa, by Dave Stringer
  5. “My Foolish Heart/Bhaja Govinda” from Heart as Wide as the World, by Krishna Das
  6. “Changing Your Trajectory/Saman Mantra” (excerpt) from Following Sound into Silence: A Chanting CD, by Kailash
  7. “Sharade” from Reveal, by Girish
  8. “Baba Hanuman” from Sri, by Shantala
  9. “Ram—A Swami Kripalu Chant”

Seva CD 2009

Order the Seva CD Vol. 2 now.

We are delighted to bring you Seva CD Vol. 2, our second disc in the Seva CD series. For this CD, we’ve selected an array of tracks that are a perfect fit for yoga classes—starting with mellow grooves to help set the tone for centering and warm-ups, building in tempo to support asana flow, and then softening into serene melodies for relaxation and Savasana. This unique collection of melodies, chants, and joyous harmonies is also ideal for your personal practice and for your listening pleasure anytime.

Track Listing

  1. “Indian Nights” from Colors of the Mind, by Steve Gorn
  2. “Padma Lakshmi” from Mukti, by Satyaa & Pari
  3. “Gentle Awakening” from Sound Yoga, by Dean Evenson with Scott Huckabay
  4. “Om Asatoma” from The Essence, by Deva Premal
  5. “Black Mesa” from Ritual, by Gabrielle Roth & The Mirrors
  6. “Surrender” from Maha Moha: The Great Delusion, by Wade Morissette
  7. “Lokha Samasta Sukhino Bhavantu” from Sanctuary, by Donna De Lory
  8. “Dina Dayal” from Dial M for Mantra, by Jai Uttal
  9. “Djun Groove in 6” (previously unreleased), by KDZ: The Kripalu Drummers
  10. “Ra Ma Da Sa from Grace”, by Snatam Kaur
  11. “Bamboo & Synthesizer” (excerpt) from A Touch of Grace, by Jonathan Foust

Seva CD 2008

Order the Seva CD 2008 now.

The CD features atmospheric music from Chris Brenne and Mark Kelso; soulful song from Wah!, Bhavani Lorraine Nelson, and Rich Goodhart; transporting kirtan from Sruti Ram and Ishwari—and, of course, totally danceable drumming by KDZ.

Track Listing

  1. “Dusty’s Girl” from Lady of the Spice Lands, by Chris Brenne
  2. “Midnight Raga” from Eight, by John de Kadt
  3. “Bajanam Bali” from Lotus Feet, by David Newman (Durga Das)
  4. “See Me Beautiful”, by Bhavani Lorraine Nelson
  5. “Krishna Govinda” from Fire of Devotion, by Sruti Ram and Ishwari
  6. “Show up and Be Heard” from Opium, by Wah!
  7. “Firetruck” from Slang Rhythm Speak, by KDZ: The Kripalu Drummers
  8. “Embrace” from In The Moment, by Mark Kelso
  9. “A Dream It Was Thought I” from Earth Spiral Water Sound, by Rich Goodhart